Leuven elected most sustainable Belgian municipality in 2013

The awards ceremony for the most sustainable Belgian municipality in 2013 took place Tuesday afternoon at the City Hall in Brussels. The jury, headed by International Polar Foundation president Alain Hubert, voted Leuven the most sustainable municipality for its project 'Leuven Climate Neutral 2030'. 

Chaudfontaine received a special mention of the Jury for the development of its municipal soft mobility network. The vote for the most sustainable Belgian municipality, an initiative of Cofely Services, aims to encourage municipalities to share their experience in terms of sustainable development and highlight projects of particular interest.

A total of 48 dossiers were submitted this year. The Jury, lead by Alain Hubert, was composed of experts in sustainable development selected last October one laureate project by province. All the nominees for the price were eager to hear which municipality would be awarded the title of most sustainable municipality this year.

Following presentations on sustainable development by Nadine Gouzée (Task Force on Sustainable Development, Federal Planning Bureau), and Dirk Holemans (Oikos) and a presentation of the nominees, the decision of the Jury was announced.

The Jury attributed the price to Leuven for its innovative and ambitious 'Leuven Climate Neutral 2030' project. The project is based on a large collaboration between the municipality, the population and different partners of the city to develop an action plan to become carbon neutral by 2030.

The Jury also awarded a special mention to Chaudfontaine for its project to develop a municipal soft mobility network, a network of pathways allowing and encouraging inhabitants to move around the municipality by foot and bicycle, thereby reducing road traffic.

Have a look at the video presentations of the two projects!

Currently in at Princess Elisabeth Antarctica polar research station, Alain Hubert addressed the awards ceremony via a recorded video message, stating that "once again, the International Polar Foundation is impressed by the quality of the projects that have been submitted".

Congratulations from the International Polar Foundation to both of the winning municipalities!