Marking Ten Years of Achievement

The International Polar Foundation celebrates ten years of achievement, in the presence of their Royal Highnesses Prince Philippe and Princess Mathilde of Belgium, and His Serene Highness Prince Albert II of Monaco, at a gala dinner for 300 guests tonight central Brussels.

The event, taking place at Brussels venue Tour & Taxis on the evening of October 3rd, welcomes honorary members of the foundation, including renowned polar scientists, along with international dignitaries and corporate executives.

The International Polar Foundation was created in 2002 by Belgian polar explorer Alain Hubert and scientists André Berger and Hugo Decleir, as a foundation for the public good tasked with connecting science and society.  The Foundation works to raise the profile of polar scientific research, in order to advance human knowledge, and to promote informed action on climate change and the development of a sustainable society.

“It is with great pleasure that the Foundation welcomes our honorary president His Royal Highness Prince Philippe of Belgium to celebrate our first decade”, said International Polar Foundation President Alain Hubert. “Thanks to His support, and the support of our partners and friends, the International Polar Foundation has accomplished goals far beyond our own expectations, and we look forward to another ten years of working for a more sustainable future”.

During its first ten years, the Foundation has developed audacious landmark projects, including the revolutionary zero emission polar research station Princess Elisabeth Antarctica, the annual Arctic Futures Symposium –taking place this week in Brussels, the Class Zero Emission education programme, and the planned network of Polaris Climate Change Observatories.

During the gala evening, the 2012 InBev Baillet-Latour Antarctica Fellowship will be awarded. This annual grant of €150,000 for scientific research, to be conducted at Princess Elisabeth Antarctica research station, is open to young international scientists and promotes scientific excellence. The fellowship is a joint initiative by The InBev Baillet Latour Fund and the International Polar Foundation.