Pole-position Awards Ceremony

The Pole-position contest, organised by the Belgian Federal Science Policy Office (Belspo) was a huge success among Belgian schools. With 76 registered teams and 55 projects finalised, it has demonstrated the great interest of youngsters in the Antarctic and in particular in the construction of a new Belgian Antarctic station - the central theme of the contest.

Several models but also poems, timelines, journalistic reports, a travel log book, internet sites and quizzes are just some of the many ways in which participating students have given expression to their interest and ideas about polar research and exploration.

Alain Hubert, Chairman of the IPF, together with Research Minister Marc Verwilghen, Philippe Mettens, Chairman of the Belgian Federal Science Policy Office, Camille Pisani, Director-General of the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences and Hugo Decleir, Professor at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel and co-founder of the IPF, gave out the prizes to the 30 laureates in the beautifully renovated Tour & Taxi site in Brussels.

The winners of the competition's first prize, a trip to the Lapland district (Laponia), were Destination père Noël from Athénée of Pepinster and Cryosat from Sint Josef College of Aarschot.

Their visit to the Far North takes place in June, 2006.