The International Polar Foundation was established in 2002 as a foundation for public good and is an operational foundation active in the field of “Science & Society”.

Honorary President

HM King Philippe of Belgium


  • Alain Hubert: Polar Explorer, Civil Engineer, Mountain Guide
  • André Berger: Climatologist, Emeritus Professor at UCL (Belgium), Honorary President of the European Geo Sciences Union
  • Hugo Decleir: Glaciologist, Emeritus Professor at VUB (Belgium)

Honorary Members

  • Roger Barry: National Snow and Ice Data Centre (NSIDC), USA
  • Paul Crutzen: Max Planck Institute, Mainz, Germany
  • Ivan Frolov: Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI), Russia
  • Claude Lorius: Laboratoire de Glaciologie et Géophysique de l’Environnement (LGGE), France
  • Lawrence Mysak: McGill University, Canada
  • Olav Orheim: GRID-Arendal, Norway
  • Dahe Qin: China Meteorological Administration (CMA), China
  • Chris G. Rapley: University College London (UCL), UK
  • Susan Solomon: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
  • Konrad Steffen: Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich), Switzerland
  • Jorn Thiede: St Petersburg State University, Russia
  • Svein Tveitdal: Klima 2020, Norway
  • Okitsugu Watanabe: National Institute of Polar Research (NIPR), Japan

Executive Committee

  • Alain Hubert: President, International Polar Foundation
  • Nighat Amin: Vice President, International Affairs, International Polar Foundation
  • Henri Tassenoy: Financial Director, International Polar Foundation - Polaris Centre


  • Alain Hubert: Founder, President of the Board
  • André Berger: Founder
  • Hugo Decleir: Founder
  • Nighat Amin: Vice President
  • Chevalier Jacques Brassinne de la Buissière: Vice-President
  • Baron Philippe Bodson: Director
  • Philippe Maystadt: Director
  • François-Xavier Huberlant: Director