InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship

The InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship provides young scientists with the opportunity to conduct research in East Antarctica operating out of the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica research station.

A joint initiative of the InBev-Baillet Latour Fund and the International Polar Foundation, the €150,000 research grant aims to promote scientific excellence in Antarctica and underscores the crucial role polar science plays in furthering our understanding of the Earth and how it functions.

2014 Conference & Award Ceremony

The 2014 Fellowship laureate was officially announced at Antarctica – The Next Generation, an afternoon science conference at the Palais des Académies/Paleis der Academiën in Brussels on September 17th 2014.

Outcome of Antarctica - The Next Generation

A young Belgian researcher, Jan Lenaerts was presented with the prestigious €150,000 InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship, by Jean-Jacques Derwael, a renowned geodetic surveyor, for his proposal to investigate how much snow melts currently on the ice shelves in East Antarctica, by how much that melt will increase in the future, and how that will impact ice shelf stability and a resulting rise in global sea levels. Read the press release to learn more about the laureate and his project BENEMELT and watch the laureate's video interview we have done after he was awarded the Fellowship.

The conference also provided participants with the opportunity to learn about the scientific outcomes of research carried out in Antarctica by previous laureates of the InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship in the fields of microbiology, glaciology and planetary sciences as well as atmospheric science research at the Princess Elisabeth Station.

The detailed conference programme as well as speeches and presentations made at the conference are available for download.

Wish to see more? Watch the video of the event we have put together.

Speakers and background reading

Wish to know more about the speakers' fields of research ? Download their biographies and read interviews we have done with them in the past.

Fellowship eligibility criteria and selection procedures

The Fellowship is open to researchers studying for a PhD or within 10 years of completing their PhD from any country around the world.

Applicants should submit an original research proposal for a  project which will include field campaigns operating from the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica station (located in Dronning Maud Land in East Antarctica at 71.57°S 23.20°E).

Questions? Contact Us!

If you have any questions about the InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship, we encourage you to contact us at:

A helpful Q&A  has been posted on our sister website, SciencePoles.

Previous Laureates

Previous laureates of the InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship have been:

Please note that in 2008 and 2010, the Fellowship was only open to researchers registered at a Belgian University or research institute or other research facility in Belgium. Since 2012 the Fellowship has been opened to researchers based anywhere in the world.

Project Partners

We would like to thank the following partners for their support

  • InBev Baillet-Latour