Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship

The Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship provides young scientists with the opportunity to conduct research in East Antarctica operating out of the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica research station.

A joint initiative of the Baillet Latour Fund and the International Polar Foundation, the €150,000 research grant aims to promote scientific excellence in Antarctica and underscores the crucial role polar science plays in furthering our understanding of the Earth and how it functions.

The Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship is open to applicants from any country in the world. Applicants must be either doctoral researchers or post-doctoral researchers who have completed their PhD within the last 10 years. The successful applicant will continue to work at their current research organisation and conduct original research based on field campaigns operating from the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica station (located in Dronning Maud Land in East Antarctica at 71.57°S 23.20°E).


The call for proposals for the 2016 - 2018 Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship is closed. Please keep an eye on this webpage in 2018 to find out when the call for 2018 - 2020 applications open.


For more information, please consult the Information File for the fellowship as well as the research and logistics document for the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica research station.

Looking for advice on how to write a proposal? Watch the recording of the SCAR-COMNAP-APECS Fellowships writing webinar available from the SCAR Fellowships Mentoring page to learn directly from a highly qualified and experienced panel.

If you have any questions about the Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship, the facilities at the station and research environment, or anything else, we encourage you to contact us at:

Current Laureate

  • 2016: Dr. Lori Ziolkowski received the 2016-2018 Baillet Latour Fellowship for her REMACA project. She will look at carbon cycling processes, including microbial, in a wide variety of potential habitats in areas surrounding the Princess Elizabeth Antarctica station. Her work will contribute to future studies on diverse topics such as past climate patterns and microbial diversity in East Antarctica. You can follow her progress on her blog.

Previous Laureates

Previous laureates of the Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship have been:

  • 2014: Dr. Jan Lenaerts received the grant for his Benemelt project to investigate how much snow melts currently on the ice shelves in East Antarctica, by how much that melt will increase in the future, and how that will impact ice shelf stability and a resulting rise in global sea levels. Watch the laureate's video interview after he was awarded the Fellowship.
  • 2012: German glaciologist Dr. Reinhard Drews received the grant for the Be:Wise research project, which investigates how the potential disintegration of Antarctic floating ice shelves could contribute to increased ice flow from inland glaciers, and a resulting rise in global sea levels. Learn about his experience and listen to advice he gives to future applicants in our video interview.
  • 2010: Dr. Steven Goderis received the grant for his Micrometa project, which aims to gain better insight into the origin and the evolution of planets and our solar system through the study of micrometeorites.
  • 2008: Dr. Elie Verleyen received the grant for his research project Delaqua to study the deglaciation history and past changes in ice-sheet thickness and climate in the Sør Rondane Massif in East Antarctica during the Late Quaternary.

Please note that in 2008 and 2010, the Fellowship was only open to researchers registered at a Belgian University or research institute or other research facility in Belgium. Since 2012 the Fellowship has been opened to researchers based anywhere in the world.

Wish to know more about past laureates? The International Polar Foundation organised an afternoon science conference - Antarctica -The Next Generation -  at the Palais des Académies/Paleis der Academiën in Brussels on September 17th 2014. It provided participants with the opportunity to learn about the scientific outcomes of research carried out in Antarctica by previous laureates of the Antarctica Fellowship in the fields of microbiology, glaciology and planetary sciences as well as atmospheric science research at the Princess Elisabeth Station. The detailed conference programme as well as speakers' biographies, speeches and presentations made at the conference are available for download. You can also read interviews we have done with them in the past.

Project Partners

We would like to thank the following partners for their support

  • Baillet Latour Fund